Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey, I'very interested in applying for the Oxford BCL and Cambridge LLM, I intend to pursue a career as a commercial solicitor, but love studying law at the moment and would like a year to continue this further. I have just finished my second year at the LSE. However I am quite worried I don't really have the right credentials to get a place.

My background is as follows:

GCSEs: 11A*
    A Levels: A*A*AB
    First year results: Average 2:1 (67,65,63,62) - not too great but my first year does not count.
    Second Year: High 2:1 (70,69,66,65)

I am quite sure I can obtain a first overall; I need two more firsts and a high enough average. However, I am not sure this is really reflected by my grades this year. I have an entrepreneurial background, though I'm not sure this is really relevant (started an online business/leading an entrepreneurship conference).

More importantly, I don't have a rapport with any of my lecturers/tutors and they don't know much about me - so I'm not sure how good my references will be.

If I've understood correctly, I need to apply around November time, so in all honesty, any thoughts about my chances?

Thank you!

ReputationRep:
    Probably a minimal chance at the BCL and a decent chance on the Cambridge LLM. Your grades show a decent progress from 1st to 2nd year, which will help a lot. Neither will care at all about your extra curriculars, both will care about your grades and personal statement and references, and Oxford will care about the essay you have to submit as well.

Disclaimer - I got rejected from both and am skulking off to UCL in September instead. Hope you have better luck.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Forum User)