Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi

As an upcoming fresher I'm already starting to create a mind map of everything I need for this autumn, so obviously I have a couple of questions to ask

Is there a standard that students take notes in notebooks during lectures, or are computers a more common practice? So far I haven't used a computer in class, though I really don't know what to expect in uni or how many notebooks to buy

Another question for those living in Bath or Durham area: which mobile carrier would you advise? I am looking for one with a strong 3G coverage, seeing that as an international student my communication with home will strongly depend on Skype, whatsapp etc

Thanks in advance!

ReputationRep:
    I'm not from the Bath or Durham area so I can't help you with mobile carriers (sorry!).

When I first started uni last year, I was intending to use my laptop to take notes, but I bought a couple of notebooks just in case. Luckily I did, as when I got to my first lecture, nobody was using laptops!

As we got further into the year, a couple of people brought in iPad's to take notes, but that's the closest we got to laptops.

My advice would be to buy a cheap A4 notebook, take it with you on the first day, and see what everyone else is doing.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by katemaria)

Another question for those living in Bath or Durham area: which mobile carrier would you advise? I am looking for one with a strong 3G coverage, seeing that as an international student my communication with home will strongly depend on Skype, whatsapp etc
    !
    With most mobile carries you can go to their website and do a postcode search of an area and they will give you a rough idea of what kind of coverage you can get in that area. Probably best off trying that first. If not, you can always pop in to their stores and ask them.

ReputationRep: