Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

It is possible to work and study engineering at postgraduate level at the same time? My savings for Msc course won't cover all fees so I'm considering a part-time job. Do you have any experiences? Do universities allow to take part-time job? I'm an EU student and I'd like to know how it looks like in the UK.

thanks in advance

ReputationRep:
    Yes. Because most people do. The only Unis that don't 'allow' it are Oxford & Cambridge but many of their students do work anyway, because they have to.

Aim for something at weekends and so keep weekdays free for study. Its very do-able as long as you keep the job under 15 hours a week. Anymore than that and you'll be too tired. Bar work, shop work etc are all good options.

ReputationRep:
    I would probably prefer to work one year in between to get experience in a relevant job (does not have to be the dream job, but related to your degree) and then concentrate on the Master. If you have time, you can allways work. The other way round is more difficult.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Nathanielle)
    I would probably prefer to work one year in between to get experience in a relevant job (does not have to be the dream job, but related to your degree) and then concentrate on the Master. If you have time, you can allways work. The other way round is more difficult.
    Thank you for your reply. I have experience-I was working during my final year at university. Graduate engineer in my conuntry earns approximately £250-£300 per month (full-time job). So I won't be able to save enough money for Msc course.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by returnmigrant)
    Yes. Because most people do. The only Unis that don't 'allow' it are Oxford & Cambridge but many of their students do work anyway, because they have to.