The Student Room Group

Do I Have A Chance Of Getting Into Durham University?

Hey guys I'll apologize in advance for making this post a bit long but I'd really appreciate some help and input here!

I'd like to start off with telling you guys my situation. I'm doing my Bachelors in Mechanical Engineering at Newcastle University but after I graduate I want to do a second Bachelors in Physics at Durham University.

So here's the problem.
I went to high school in the US so when I applied to Newcastle University I had to take an International Foundation course before getting into Mechanical Engineering. I'm graduating next year and so far I've been getting a 2:1 (first and second year). The reason why I had to take a Foundation course was because I had no A level scores or anything else I could have used to apply to Universities. I've checked the Durham University school website and it showed the admissions requirements for US students and what I need are AP, SAT and SAT subject scores. To be honest I kind of slacked off in high school and my grades are complete rubbish! The international foundation programme gave me a second chance and I'm really thankful for that. I studied really hard and from not being very comfortable with simple Algebra, I'm now getting 2:1's for my grades! However the problem still remains; how can I apply to Durham University?

So my questions are whether Durham University will consider me as an eligible candidate? Also, how hard is it to get into the Physics department at Durham University and how hard is it to get into Durham University itself? I really want to go to Durham University and I want to know what things I could do to increase my chances of getting accepted.

Thank you all for reading this :smile:
(edited 9 years ago)
Try emailing them and ask if they would accept a 2:1 in BSc Mechanical Engineering in lieu of the american high school diploma requirements. If not, they offer a BSc Physics with foundation course.
Reply 2