Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Applying to a University - Some Help would be Appreciated Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi All,

As I have once posted on this forum, I am a BTEC student who left without a choice but to pursue my studies through BTEC in IT upon arrival in the UK from Sri Lanka in 2011 July. When I first arrived I was almost 16 years old and I was not eligible to study GCSEs due to age and also A-Levels since I did not have GCSEs so the only path that was left for me was BTEC. I have started BTEC from Level 1 and now I have completed the first year of Level 3. While I was studying for BTEC Level 2 I have applied for various high schools in an attempt to switch from BTEC to A-Level which I deemed to be rather advantageous when applying for a university but I was not admitted due to age (I was 17).

As for now I have completed the first year of BTEC Level 3 in IT with the highest possible grade (distinction on every unit) and hoping to sit for GCSE Maths and English and also AS-Level Maths if possible next year.
    Could you please inform me regarding my chances of getting into a Russell Group university to study Computer Science and what will be my best choice of university?

Based on the research I have carried out concerning universities, I have discovered that the best possible university for me could be either King’s College or University of Birmingham but majority of the most reputable universities do not specify their decision regarding BTEC applicants clearly.