Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone!

First off I'll just give a bit of background on myself.. I'm 22, about to do my 2nd and final year of a CACHE Level 3 Diploma in Childcare and Education. I've had all As and only one B this year, with an A in my final exam and I'm predicted an A grade at the end of my diploma. Should I get that A grade, I'll have 360 UCAS points. I also have AS Levels from when I was 17 (ABC in Theatre Studies, English Literature, and Psychology, respectfully.) I got good grades in sciences at GCSE, with an A in Biology and B's in Chemistry and Physics. In the course I am currently studying, we do a lot of practical as well as written work. I have a lot of experience working with babies and a good knowledge of things like legislation, policies, some ailments such as foetal alcohol syndrome, and the importance of a number of issues such as confidentiality, multi-agency working, observations, and meeting holistic needs.
    I've also done work experience at my local hospital on the children's ward and will be doing further volunteer work in a hospital setting later this year (6 month waiting list unfortunately).

Deep down in my heart I want to be a midwife, but I'm acutely aware of how competitive it is and consequently very difficult to get into. I'm worried my diploma won't be enough against all these amazing people with excellent A Levels. I've settled for Children's Nursing and I know I'd thoroughly enjoy it, but should I be brave and go for Midwifery? Do I have the experience necessary?

My Universities of choice are Swansea, Cardiff, University of South Wales, and UWE, if that helps any

Thank you in advance!

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

Excellent choices in universities I am looking at doing midwifery September 2015 and will be applying for them 4 universities.