Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi All,

I would like to get some advice from people who may have been in a similar position.

I'm an LSE BSc Economics student - going into my second year in October. I am fortunate to have been offered an internship with a bulge bracket investment bank (in the advisory arm - ECM, DCM, M&A etc) for next summer 2015. Upon completion, if I'm successful I will be offered a graduate role with the department I interned with.

Part of me wants to undertake a master's degree at some point in the future (for my own interest and fulfilment).

The questions I have are:

• Is whether by doing a masters straight after my undergraduate degree, I spoil the recruitment process for the graduate position
    • Is the cost (between £15-30k on tuition alone) worth it - with a bump in salary and career progression?
    • Would it be better for career progression if I were to undertake the masters programme after a couple years of being an analyst?

Also: the Masters degree would be in economics/financial economics/financial mathematics or something of that ilk

ReputationRep:
    Just hold out for a MBA.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Blinx-MasterOf')
    Hi All,

I would like to get some advice from people who may have been in a similar position.

I'm an LSE BSc Economics student - going into my second year in October. I am fortunate to have been offered an internship with a bulge bracket investment bank (in the advisory arm - ECM, DCM, M&A etc) for next summer 2015. Upon completion, if I'm successful I will be offered a graduate role with the department I interned with.

Part of me wants to undertake a master's degree at some point in the future (for my own interest and fulfilment).

The questions I have are:

• Is whether by doing a masters straight after my undergraduate degree, I spoil the recruitment process for the graduate position