Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Please help, need advice - qualified overseas, low GDL results, seeking a TC Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone

I would be very grateful if you could share your opinion on my situation.

I am a lawyer, qualified overseas (non-EU, sorry for not naming the country, it might make you biased).
    I took GDL last year and it turned out to be a complete hell for me as a non-native speaker. Nevertheless, I somehow managed to survive and got 51 overall, which presumably is not enough to secure a TC (or is it?).
    Lets assume the law firm I am going to apply to is interested in my region and my native language, and other credentials are good (LLB equivalent to 1st, PQE 3+ in corporate, etc). Also, I genuinely thought that an Oxbridge postgraduate degree might open some doors, so I applied last year and received offers from both, but still dont know whether I will be able to take up my place (money matters, need to take a loan). I do not reside in the UK, I need a visa to be able to work full-time and I intend to return home after having qualified (by an internal transfer within the firm if possible). It might also be worth noting that I am a mature applicant (28 y.o.).
    So, the question is, what is the likelihood, in your opinion, of finding a TC in my case?

Feel free to comment and criticise!

Kind regards
    snailinthebottle

ReputationRep:
    I'm sure I've seen this on the trainee solicitor forum...

ReputationRep:
    Why are you looking for an (incredibly hard to get) training contract, when you are already qualified in corporate law which is highly transferable. What about the QLTS? If I were you I'd be looking for experienced lawyer roles, not a training contract.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Crumpet1)