Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

do we rely on computers too much? Watch

ReputationRep:
    i'm studying physics and maths, i love star trek, star wars, star gate and most other T.V shows with 'star' in the name, and i hate sports; as you can see i am the model geek, so people are often confused when i say that i don't like computers and think we rely too heavily on them.

now, this isn't to say that i don't think they're useful, on the contrary, they are vital to the modern world, but i think we are over-dependant on them even for simple tasks.

take calculators for example, i could give you a complex equation to solve and you could give me an answer without any real thought at all if you know how to use your calculator, but do you really know what mathematical function the calculator just performed? if i gave you a pencil and paper (and enough time), could you work it out the old fasioned way without your computerised miracle worker? how many of those functions are just words to you? you might know ways you can manipulate the functions and know what the answer means, but do you really know what you did and why you could do it?

this is my point, so many of us would be lost without computers and have no back up due to a superficial understanding that might get you through exams but doesn't really teach you.

but enough of me ranting, what do YOU think?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by physics man)
    i'm studying physics and maths, i love star trek, star wars, star gate and most other T.V shows with 'star' in the name, and i hate sports; as you can see i am the model geek, so people are often confused when i say that i don't like computers and think we rely too heavily on them.

now, this isn't to say that i don't think they're useful, on the contrary, they are vital to the modern world, but i think we are over-dependant on them even for simple tasks.