Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Just curious about people's opinions, really, and not trying to start an argument.
    I studied Waiting for Godot (Beckett) for Eng Lit. AS last year, and I adored every minute of it - it ws probably the most fulfilling and enjoyable play I've ever had to write essays on.
    But I know that a lot of people loathe are/are totally unaffected by it.
    What think ye?

ReputationRep:
    I read it when I studied the Theatre of the Absurd, and I loved it. It really has a really interesting message, as well as being quite entertaining.

In the same vein, has anyone read Happy Days? It's even more bizarre.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by DrSoySauce)
    I read it when I studied the Theatre of the Absurd, and I loved it. It really has a really interesting message, as well as being quite entertaining.

In the same vein, has anyone read Happy Days? It's even more bizarre.
    I haven't but I'd love to.

ReputationRep:
    Endgame - ok once, boring any more than that.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by blissy)
    Endgame - ok once, boring any more than that.
    I find with things like Endgame and WFG, they only get properly fascinating when you've read/seen them many, many times.
    Surely someone else on this board has read or seen it....?

ReputationRep:
    Guess not...uncultured philistines....

ReputationRep:
    Guess not...uncultured philistines....
    And there I was, thinking that maybe there could be a thread on the academic subforum that wasn't about maths or science.

ReputationRep:
    If you want to discuss it, here goes:

I thought it worked well, especially looking at the time it was written. The values and institutions of the previous centuries were looking quite hollow, and Beckett is trying to show that belief in external forces is not worthwhile, because they have no ultimate value, and cannot give meaning to lives that have none.