The Student Room Group

Psychology at university advice

Hi, I'm looking to be studying Psychology in University but I have a few queries about it and would appreciate any advice from people who are/have studied it in University.

Firstly, I'm concerned about the fact that I haven't studied it at A-Level so would that put me in a deficit to the rest of the people? I studied: English Literature, Sociology and Media Studies btw.

Secondly, how science based is the subject? I didn't take any pure science based A-level subjects & don't have that much of an interest in that so how science heavy is it?

Thirdly, how was the subject overall for you.. did it meet your expectations or exceed them or were you abit rose tinted and was disappointed?

Also, if you have any informative (but not too dire) books I should read to get me into Psychology more that would be much much appreciated. Thanks.
Original post by IneedHelpPlz
Hi, I'm looking to be studying Psychology in University but I have a few queries about it and would appreciate any advice from people who are/have studied it in University.

Firstly, I'm concerned about the fact that I haven't studied it at A-Level so would that put me in a deficit to the rest of the people? I studied: English Literature, Sociology and Media Studies btw.

Secondly, how science based is the subject? I didn't take any pure science based A-level subjects & don't have that much of an interest in that so how science heavy is it?

Thirdly, how was the subject overall for you.. did it meet your expectations or exceed them or were you abit rose tinted and was disappointed?

Also, if you have any informative (but not too dire) books I should read to get me into Psychology more that would be much much appreciated. Thanks.