Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

Im a medical student at kcl and was thinking about applying for a iBSc at imperial. Just wondering if anyone could share their experiences of being an external candidate, because in some respects you may be placed at a disadvantage since everything is new and you have to start afresh. However, the reason why i was interested was becuase i want to experience another uni in london.

Thanks.,

ReputationRep:
    There are some external candidates on here that I'm sure will reply soon. In the meantime I'll offer my n=1 experience from the other side of the fence.

In my year 'externals' integrated really well, performing in Imperial cultural shows and going out/even going on holiday with Imperial students. On the other hand, the year before us was notoriously antagonistic. Lots of that is inherent to that particular BSc*, and the others do have fewer external candidates. But like most things in life I suspect the experience is largely what you make of it.

re. disadvantage, there's 300 of us (that's less the grads/Oxbridge students that don't intercalate with us), so it's not like we all know each other particularly well. And academically, save for some basic sciences overlap the subject matter is different to the first 3 years. Often the teaching sites (which are naturally situated away from the two 300 seater lecture theatres that we otherwise live in) are unfamiliar to us as well. So you're all in a not dissimilar boat.

re. 'experiencing a different London uni', west London/London Bridge aside it's pretty much same **** different uni. Although we're apparently a lot more intense over here

*doi: Management, albeit internal (which was about 50:50 Imperial/external [mostly King's, incidentally], and was all the better for it)

ReputationRep: