Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am an A level student looking at applying to a few universities in Scotland.
    Although I would like to apply for "level 2" entry, I think it is alot more likely that I will be entering at "level 1". I understand that this means my coursemates from Scotland will be a year younger than me.

Does anybody have any experience of this?
    Also, if you are a year younger, that would make them 17.
    Surely this must severely affect freshers week :beer:

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Flux_Dubstep)
    Although I would like to apply for "level 2" entry, I think it is alot more likely that I will be entering at "level 1". I understand that this means my coursemates from Scotland will be a year younger than me.

Scottish universities are basically 4 years.

Level 1 - 4

Think of Level 1 as a foundation year at English universities.

The reason why Scottish unis have it , is because they Scottish students do highers - which is the equivalent of AS levels. Which also means they will be a year younger than you.
    • Welcome Squad

ReputationRep:

Most Scottish entrants are 18, although in some cases they might turn 18 during first year. There are also some 16 year olds, but as far as I'm aware it's quite rare!

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    So the majority of people enter at level 2?
    • Welcome Squad

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by fat_hobbit)
    Scottish universities are basically 4 years.

Level 1 - 4

Think of Level 1 as a foundation year at English universities.

The reason why Scottish unis have it , is because they Scottish students do highers - which is the equivalent of AS levels. Which also means they will be a year younger than you.
    Also, most Scottish students (that I know, including myself) that intend to go on to university complete their high school 6 years - which is one extra year after highers.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep: