Software/ programming/ computer science internships abroad. Watch

j1i9s9s5
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi, I'm currently studying Mathematis and Computer science and will be starting second year in October pending one resit exam. In my second year summer I would like to do an internship in areas like: Software Engineering, programming, cryptography for example. I am really interested in going abroad to work for a summer in an english speaking environment obviously. In particular, the US or Canada. However I don't know much about what is available. Could anyone shed some light on this or make any suggestions about what kind of opportunities there are and how competitive they are for UK students. Thanks!
j1i9s9s5
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Bump. Anyone?
lukemtesta
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Hi, I'm a recent electronic and computer engineering graduate BEng, and have completed over a year in the industry as part of my course. About 5% of my course worked abroad, with more opportunities than people taking them. Most major corporations offer paid temporary summer positions (such as Microsoft and Qualcomm in the states) doing real everyday engineer/computing related work. Usually salary varies from 1-2k sterling. Just go on their websites and check.

For smaller companies, many don't offer under 12-month positions. However I found that if you send a covering letter and CVs explaining how much you would love to do an internship there, they will sometimes do their best to open up a temporary position jsut for you! It's happened to me a few times looking for my placement, but I got the job at Qualcomm before the other interviews.