The Student Room Group

College

Hi , I'm new to all this so sorry if I'm doing this wrong or just put this in the wrong forum :/
Anyways, I'm 16 and I will be starting college in September, don't exactly know which one yet as I might be moving but yes.. I'm very very nervous.
I'm a really shy person when it comes to meeting and talking to new people and knowing that there's going to be a lot of new faces - scare me.
I wouldn't be so scared if I knew someone who is going to the same college or even doing the same course as me but I will be moving to a different town so I will be in a completely different area where I don't know anyone or anything.
So yeah, could anyone give me some tips like how to fit in or maybe you've been in similar situation and could share your experience?

Also, this might sound stupid, but what do I bring on the first day because on neither of the letter I got from the colleges they say anything about the stuff I need bring on the first day or just what I will need throughout the year?
Hi!

Firstly, don't worry about it all too much - there will be plenty of other students in similar situations to you, and even those bringing their friend groups along with them will be willing to get to know new people :smile: I would suggest you try chatting to people in lessons, and making an effort to try to get to know people even though you're shy :smile: Are you doing any particularly 'sociable' subjects e.g. languages? I made some really great friends through being forced to talk to them in French :tongue: