The Student Room Group

little/no qulifications route to Univirsity?

Hi all,

I need some advice as it is really hard to find some definitive answers on this.

Being 27yrs I would like to go to Uni to do a course in film media, production, something like that.

Problem is I have little/no good qualifications, I escaped from school with a GNVQ in IT and C in English.

At college I did a Fashion and textiles course of which I failed. When it comes to Film though I have extensive experience and have made my own short films with full special effects/sound/props etc. I would say it would out do the film portfolios of other beginner students applying but once again I've got no decent qualifications. I have been self studying the film industry for many years.

What are my options for the quickest route to university?

Thanks so much
james
(edited 9 years ago)
Access course, My dad did one before he did his fine art degree, it's kind of like a foundation course basically I think it gives you grounding on the subject and allows you access to the university course so it would add to your portfolio increasing you chances of being offered a place :smile:
Reply 2
Most unis these days ask for grade C GCSE English and Maths, to ensure basic literacy and numeracy. I believe that you could study for the Maths qualification alongside a 1 year Access course.

After that, entry requirements for mature students are pretty negotiable. You might want to email a couple of uni Admissions Offices and ask whether they'd accept an Access course (the majority will) and your portfolio will probably help your application.
Thanks for these answers..

Access course it looks like it is!!!!
Reply 4
Original post by jamesdaggy2015
Thanks for these answers..