Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    this is the essay ive told u about...whats wrong with it?
    thanks a lot
    :*
    Ann

WHY ARE ENTRANCE EXAMINATIONS NECESSARY ON ENGLISH PHILOLOGY?

Entrance examinations are considered to be stressful, difficult and, at times, unfair. More often than not, luck can be said to play an instrumental role in deciding one’s fate. To my mind, entrance examinations are extremely important and they are caused by three major factors: elimination of people who lack the basic knowledge of English and, therefore, ensuring that the cream of the crop is being selected, check the knowledge of those who pass, and preparation the students-to-be for the examinations in the future.
    To begin with, the main cause for creating the entrance examinations in English Philology is the wish to eliminate the people who are not on the demanded level of English. Entrance examinations act as a huge sieve. Few years ago I was an apprentice in a private school, in which there was no entrance examination. The effects of such policy were best visible in my group, which consisted of many people with and without the fluency in English. Learning in such atmosphere was restricted and terribly hard, since the lecturer could scarcely proceed with the material. If there had been a test at the beginning, the group would have been smaller but at least we could have been able to learn faster.
    Secondly, another cause for creating the entrance examinations on English Philology is checking the knowledge of those who pass, which ensures that there will be no circumstances in which students of different depths of understanding will be placed in the same group. It has been psychologically proven that placing students of very wide range of knowledge in the same group causes the slow down of the better ones.