How effective where tanks in ww1 out of 10? and why?

Watch
euphxria
Badges: 0
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
please answer
Apocrypha
Badges: 15
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 7 years ago
From the top of my head, they tilted the scale of trench warfare into the favour of the allies, so pretty effective. 8/10

They broke down alot though and were expensive to upkeep and got stuck in the mud.
uberteknik
Badges: 21
Rep:
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by euphxria)
please answer
You start.
Josh93
Badges: 11
Rep:
Report 7 years ago
My understanding (and I am no expert so someone else will probably contradict me) is that they were initially relatively ineffective due to their slow speed and difficulty crossing the uneven ground of the Western Front battlefields, stranded tanks make brilliant targets for artillery and at best they could move at 3-4mph (again, no expert so fact check that).

However, the psychological impact on the enemy would I imagine have been pretty extraordinary and when newer, more mobile tanks were used in conjunction with 'creeping artillery barrage' tactics the tank was almost certainly a key part of the reason for the success of the allied assaults in the summer of 1918. They were pretty impervious to small arms fire (so infantry could advance behind them and be largely immune to enemy machine gun fire) and they were invaluable in clearing enemy wire ahead of the advancing infantry.

I'm going to say 7/10 because in my opinion they contributed hugely to the overall allied victory by 1918, however compared to the effectiveness of a Tiger tank from WW2 they would score 1/10 and there is absolutely no comparison with the effectiveness of a modern Challenger 2 or ABRAMS tank for example.
Marshall22
Badges: 5
Rep: