Balance Transfer Credit Card Watch

bhav777
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
So I'm currently a student with a job lined up to start in about a month's time. However, currently my finances are really restricted.

By the time I start work I will have maxed out my interest-free overdraft (due to direct debits due out) and I'm coming up to the end of my interest-free period for my current credit card.

So...I was thinking of getting a balance transfer credit card as a term of short-term lending until I've received a paycheck or two. I would transfer my exist credit card balance to that and use my existing credit card for essential purchases. Does that sound like a good idea?
Is that how balance transfer credit cards work?

I was thinking about getting this one (http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/redir/fca8039f), anything in particular I should be aware about?
balotelli12
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
You won't get a credit card.
You aren't in full time employment.
bhav777
Rep:
?
(Original post by balotelli12)
1. I've already got a credit card.

2. I've spoke to Barclaycard and they said it's okay to put the salary that I am expected to receive soon.
samba
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Yea it works.

I'm not in full time employment and have 12 cards or so.
donutaud15
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by bhav777)
So I'm currently a student with a job lined up to start in about a month's time. However, currently my finances are really restricted.

By the time I start work I will have maxed out my interest-free overdraft (due to direct debits due out) and I'm coming up to the end of my interest-free period for my current credit card.

So...I was thinking of getting a balance transfer credit card as a term of short-term lending until I've received a paycheck or two. I would transfer my exist credit card balance to that and use my existing credit card for essential purchases. Does that sound like a good idea?