The Student Room Group

HELP! Bad AS grades...

Hiya,
I got my AS grades a while ago, and I've been severely depressed since. I got a CCDD, which was really a shock because I'm a really good student and got REALLY good grades on my GCSE's!
C- Bio
C- Class Civ
D- Chem
D- Latin
(All OCR)
Now, I know I'll be doing retakes in january, but I need advice on which ones to retake and how I choose which module. Also, I'm dropping Latin for A2, so should I retake my latin modules? Or is there no point? And will my really bad grades affect university offers?

And also I get confused about how AS levels and A2's are added up together... if someone could explain that, that would be brilliant. Thanks!

M x x x x x :'(
I would say dont retake latin but retake at least a module in each of the others then you wont have to tell the universities what you got as you dont have your final grade. Your going to have to beg your teachers to give you decent predictive grades. AS and A2 are evenly balanced so if you want to do well your going to have to work your ass off.
Reply 2
Just to explain AS + A2. Your AS year makes up 50% of your overall grade, your mark will be out of 300 with an A at 240, B at 210 and so on. The A2 year is another 300 points and the UMS score from both years is added to calculate your overall score. So 480/600 would be an A overall. A standalone AS is worth exactly half a full A Level, so on the UCAS scale an A is 120 at A2 but only 60 at AS.
Reply 3