Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Persistent cough that won't go away watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm a 20 year old male who has had a cough since breaking up for the Summer (around early June), and so it's been with me for a good two and a half months.

I have been to the GP about it twice, the last time she performed a resp exam, and everything seemed fine. She gave me a script for antibiotics, but I never took it (prescription costs are a *****).

It has to be said, I'm a little concerned that it could be something serious. I know it's incredibly unlikely, as I'm a non-smoker, have never smoked, have no close relatives that smoke and am still very young, but I am concerned it is lung cancer. I will book another appointment and ask for a chest X-ray just to put my mind at rest.

I am a medical student, and have read the symptoms a thousand times- I have no other symptoms like breathlessness or chest pain.

My cough seems almost non-existent some days, but on days like today, it's just annoying.
    My diet is generally ok, with a good amount of fruit, no excessive drinking, although I do eat a lot of crap.

Any thoughts?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by navarre)
    Hi,

I'm a 20 year old male who has had a cough since breaking up for the Summer (around early June), and so it's been with me for a good two and a half months.

I have been to the GP about it twice, the last time she performed a resp exam, and everything seemed fine. She gave me a script for antibiotics, but I never took it (prescription costs are a *****).

It has to be said, I'm a little concerned that it could be something serious. I know it's incredibly unlikely, as I'm a non-smoker, have never smoked, have no close relatives that smoke and am still very young, but I am concerned it is lung cancer. I will book another appointment and ask for a chest X-ray just to put my mind at rest.