Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi I am a to-be year 13 student yet I have already taken the A2 exams for a foreign language.
    I received my results today which say "A".
    This is hard to believe as I am fluent in this language and found the two units' exams very easy.
    Is it not possible to be considered an A* grade if the AS exams are not completed and calculated into the UMS as well?

ReputationRep:
    You have to do AS and A2....

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by hanaikusa)
    Hi I am a to-be year 13 student yet I have already taken the A2 exams for a foreign language.
    I received my results today which say "A".
    This is hard to believe as I am fluent in this language and found the two units' exams very easy.
    Is it not possible to be considered an A* grade if the AS exams are not completed and calculated into the UMS as well?
    If you have only taken A2 exams then they will not give you an overall grade at all. You have to have been entered for all the units (even if you don't turn up to all of them) before you can get an overall grade.

Exactly what does your results slip say?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Compost)
    If you have only taken A2 exams then they will not give you an overall grade at all. You have to have been entered for all the units (even if you don't turn up to all of them) before you can get an overall grade.

Exactly what does your results slip say?
    My slip says (for A2) I have an overall "A", with a close to full mark A for Unit1 and a rather low B mark for Unit 2.
    I am rather shocked of the Unit 2 raw mark after converting it through edexcel, and I'm considering requesting a remark because it's so unexpected...
    (It's impossible to think that I only got 55 out of 80 when I found the test so easy..)

I now understand that you must get 80% overall for AS & a 90% overall just within A2 to get an A*.