Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Doing a levels whilst depressed- advice? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys,
    I received my AS results yesterday and I got CDE, I'm a very capable student and achieved A*'s and A's in my gcses.
    I didn't do so well this year because of the fact that I had depression, I went to doctors during the year but I felt she wasn't very sympathetic despite telling me I was depressed. So I did a bit of counselling and then my mother found out who doesn't understand this sort of illness, so I stopped. By the time it got to exam season, I had about an hour of sleep every night and was constantly battling suicidal thoughts(especially during my exams)
    I was so demotivated and constantly tired, I was probably in the worst mental state ever, I didn't even think id make it alive to see results day, to be fair.
    I'm seeing my head teacher in about two weeks to discuss my future at the school. I need to explain why I got the grades that I did but I don't know if he'll take me serious enough
    I do plan on going back to my gp next week (going to see a different doctor hopefully) so something can be done about my sleep issues and possibly put me on antidepressants because counselling wasn't working out for me
    I'm wondering if I could get a doctors note to show my head teacher, I mean because I've been to the doctor before everything should be on the system.
    Will this help me with my case to carry on with a2 re doing my as and making an overall improvement?
    Also any tips for talking to my doctor?

ReputationRep: