Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am aged 22. Did my O' levels in 2008, completed A' levels in 2013 after resits and gap years (a terrible phase of my life). I have no work experience. My question are:
    1.Am I a mature student?
    2.would be compulsory to get in uni through access in my case?
    3.is the option to get in uni through access open for me?

ReputationRep:
    Hi there

Generally, yes you are considered a 'mature' student in terms of your age.

I don't think you would need to do an access course if you already have A-levels, not unless you don't have the right grades or you want to study something completely different from what you studied for your A-levels.

My partner got an unconditional offer to do graphic design with A-levels that are 18 years old, with no work experience in the subject.

Always best to check with the unis.

Hope this helps

ReputationRep:
    I went to uni aged 44 and I didn't have to do an Access course. However the other mature student on my course did. Mature student entry is decided on a case-by-case basis but my situation seemed to be the exception rather than the rule for my uni.

I had been studying a couple of online courses relevant to my degree and one of my online tutors wrote my UCAS reference. I also had some practical experience in my degree field as a volunteer, some of which was with the uni I applied to, so I was known to staff who taught the course. I also went to a couple of Open Days and spoke to staff, to ensure that they remembered me.

Usually, the uni wants to see evidence of recent successful study, to show that you are capable. If you did A Levels a few years ago, they might still require an Access qualification to show that you're currently capable of studying at the right level. These days they're also quite strict about applicants having at least Grade C English and Maths GCSEs to ensure basic literacy and numeracy.