Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello, I'm picking up my GCSE results next week but shockingly enough, I still haven't picked a career. In the past year or two, I've considered: Film Director, Cinematographer, Teaching, Accounting or being a Historian. Firstly, allow me to break down each career:

Film Director:
    Pros: I love films, I love how they're made. It is my DREAM career.
    Cons: I see films come out by Directors who have no experience, yet they're in their 40's, it makes me worry. What if I don't make it? And how long would I be waiting? What do I do for 40 years?

Cinematographer:
    Pros: Again, I love the visual style of films
    Cons: Again, how do I break into it? Make it a sustainable career?

Teaching:
    Pros: I am a good teacher, I always put others before myself, nearly everyone I know has suggested to me that I do this.
    Cons: No real major cons, just not sure about it.

Accounting:
    Pros: I am responsible with money, I like the career also
    Cons: I'm not great at maths, I can do multiplications, fractions and all. But I struggle on thing such as area. Its my weakness.

Historian:
    Pros: I love history, I would probably teach it, I'm fascinated by history
    Cons: What kind of career can I have, besides Teaching?

Please help. I just don't know what to do.

ReputationRep:
    I didn't pick my career until I was in my early twenties - plenty of people I know it's been much later than that!

Choose your courses out of the subjects you enjoy studying. You are more likely to do well, and this will be more transferable than bad grades.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    I'm going to study:
    English Lit
    History
    Photography
    Economics
    A-Levels.

ReputationRep:
    That's a really good mix. If you got good results in those you could go into many different careers with those, including those you have mentioned.