Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Greetings fellow students.
    I thought I'd share my A-level story mainly because I've seen many AS students almost enter depression because of their results and I've even seen tweets such as 'Well that's almost completely narrowed my career ambitions'. Before I start I feel the need to explain that I am in no way attempting to brag, and the main purpose of this is to attempt to give hope.

I'll start briefly by saying that my GCSEs were below average: I managed to get a B in Maths, a C in English, a C in science, and mostly Ds in everything else - I was a student who didn't do much work.

Then came my first year of A-levels and I carried over the same laid-back attitude as my GCSE days. That year ended catastrophically with my results being:
    Law: U
    Economics & Business: U
    Maths: U
    English Language: C
    General Studies: E
    I'd been told to knuckle down and mature my whole life, but it wasn't until I myself came to the realisation that my life would probably be pretty bleak with those grades that I decided i'd try and change things around. after long negotiation with my Head of P16, she allowed me to retake the year (At first she was reluctant because who's to say I'll change? She tried pushing me towards slightly easier subjects but I stayed stubborn because I was determined, and proposed what might resemble a rehabilitation plan).

Then after my second year of AS, I achieved these results:
    Maths: B
    English Lang/Lit: C
    Drama: C
    Economics & Business: D