The Student Room Group

Biomedical Engineering 2015 Applicants

Surely I'm not the only one applying for this course. :rolleyes:

I'm thinking of applying to Oxford, Imperial, UCL, KCL and Newcastle!

I'm an international student by the way.

Scroll to see replies

Hey again :L
Yay for biomedical! :3
I live in Scotland so I'm hoping to go to a scottish university. That leaves me with the choice of either Glasgow Uni or Strathclyde...so much choice.
At the moment I'm hoping to go to Strathclyde because they have a better engineering department but that may change after the Glasgow open day!
Reply 2
Original post by greenladybird
Hey again :L
Yay for biomedical! :3
I live in Scotland so I'm hoping to go to a scottish university. That leaves me with the choice of either Glasgow Uni or Strathclyde...so much choice.
At the moment I'm hoping to go to Strathclyde because they have a better engineering department but that may change after the Glasgow open day!

Yay! I'm from New Zealand :biggrin:
So do you do A-level then? Will you be applying to only 2 uni's?
Original post by peterith
Yay! I'm from New Zealand :biggrin:
So do you do A-level then? Will you be applying to only 2 uni's?

No, I do SQA qualifications :smile:
A-level is about equivalent to Advanced Highers and AS levels are about equal to Highers - which I've just sat.
In Scottish unis, they base their offers on your higher subjects so it's only for really competitive courses such as medicine that will be expecting advanced higher grades.
Takes the pressure of when you can get unconditional offers :smile:
I'm also applying for Prosthetics + Orthotics at Strathclyde as the courses are reasonably similar!
I might apply to some english unis but I think I'd prefer to stay in Scotland because of tuition fees and closeness to home :smile: