bob1957
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hi,

I'm new to TSR and have a query regarding payment of tuition fees by SFE which I hope you can help me with. Firstly, I apologise for this rather lengthy post.

I'm a mature student who started a four year full time course at university in 2013 receiving full funding from SFE for payment of tuition fees. This was a course with an integrated foundation year with progression to a chosen school for a BSc degree, subject to achieveing a specific passmark. Unfortunately I didn't achieve the required passmark for my chosen school so could not study the subject I wanted to at my current university, but was offered alternative schools/subjects which I wasn't happy with. However, my passmark for the foundation year was accepted by another university and I was offered a place starting in 2014 on year one of their full time BSc degree course to study the subject I wanted.

Being a bit naïve on how this would affect funding of tuition fees from SFE I accepted the place at the new university and noitified SFE of the changes, only to be later informed by SFE that funding for the first year tuition fees at my new university was not available. After talking a number of times to SFE advisors on the phone I am informed that I have lost two years tuition fee funding because of previous study rules.

One year has been reduced because the transfer from my former university to my new one is classed as one years previous study. After belatedly reading the previous study rules I must accept this is correct.