Everyone can learn maths to the highest level.

Watch
Poll: Everyone can learn maths to the highest level.
I'm a maths teacher and I agree. (0)
0%
I'm a maths teacher and I disagree. (7)
17.5%
I'm not a maths teacher and I agree. (2)
5%
I'm not a maths teacher and I disagree. (31)
77.5%
BabyMaths
  • Study Helper
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Do you agree with the statement in the thread title?
Alex347_
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
No. I probably tried the hardest in Maths out of all my GCSE's and achieved only a C. Whereas in History I did no revision and got 98%. I got mostly A*/A overall as well. Me and numbers just do not get along.
Iggy Azalea
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
I suffer from dyscalculia and I couldn't get higher than a C at GCSE, despite support and weeks of hard work.

So I disagree.
karmacrunch
  • Study Helper
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Although this kind of goes against it,

"Mathematics may be defined as the subject in which we never know what we are talking about, nor whether what we are saying is true."- Bertrand Russell

... I agree with that statement.
Posted from TSR Mobile
HandmadeTurnip
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Depends what you define as the 'highest level'.
BabyMaths
  • Study Helper
Rep:
?
I wish I'd included another option: I'm a mathematician and I dis/agree.

Can I edit the poll?
Little Tail Chaser
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Absolutely not.
YanaIguana
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
I'm hopeless at maths. I get really anxious whenever I have to answer a mathematical question and it usually takes me a long time to work out (even with a calculater).

Granted I've never had a brilliant maths teacher who would sit with me individually to help me solve and understand questions. However, I remember being terrible at maths from a very young age.