JLAG
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
So i'm studying mental health nursing in september and have been keen to get a few tattoos on my arms and collar bone for a while. I know the deal with piercings and stuff being pulled out etc. but are there any rules about tattoos? Thankyou!
deviant182
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by JLAG)
So i'm studying mental health nursing in september and have been keen to get a few tattoos on my arms and collar bone for a while. I know the deal with piercings and stuff being pulled out etc. but are there any rules about tattoos? Thankyou!
There shouldn't be too much of a problem as long as they aren't offensive or Get in the way of your work (ie gettin them done and having to redress them etc at work).
Plenty of people have tattoos these days!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Callie-X
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
It depends on the uni/trust. Some are more accepting, but I've read other guidelines issued by certain institutions that say tattoos are allowed - as long as they can be covered by the uniform.
anon2010
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
there are policies on tattoos in most trusts but since you are doing MH nursing you usually get to wear your own clothes so covering them up should be easy if its your trusts against trust policy..

It would be good to cover them up (if you can) anyway though because even if they are not offensive, psychotic patients may find a meaning in them which may effect their recovery.

I use to do MH nursing and I wore long sleeves on placement to cover a tattoo on my arm. It is a date of birth so technically not offensive but if you have ever seen the film a beautiful mind you can see that a patient could see that as a code and it confuses them even more.

Also speak to your tutor about it (that's what I did), as they are nurses themselves and would know the best way to approach this in the trust that you may be working in.
sunnydespair
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago