KateJones1989
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hi all,

I appreciate there's no way of getting a definitive answer for my question but any help would be truly appreciated!

In summary, I graduated in 2011 with a first class law degree for a top 10-20 UK university. We weren't given rankings but I would estimate I was in the top 5-10% of my year. At the time, I was really interested in going to the bar. Sadly, I couldn't afford it so had to go down the solicitor route. I have just finished my 2 year training contract and am now a litigation solicitor.

I am now in a position where I would like to go back to study either the Oxford BCL or the Cambridge LLM in a bid to strengthen my eventual application for pupillage.

Could anyone let me know what they think of my chances of getting on either of these courses?

In terms of strengths, I have very good work experience and have a strong rapport with my former lecturers so should have a relatively good set of references.

In terms of weaknesses, in my first year at university I received low 2:1/2:2 marks (averaging around 60) but averaged around 70/71 for my last two years. I have AAB at A-level.

I'm not sure what other factors to mention but please let me know what you think may be relevant.

Thank you!
pk550
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by KateJones1989)
Hi all,

I appreciate there's no way of getting a definitive answer for my question but any help would be truly appreciated!

In summary, I graduated in 2011 with a first class law degree for a top 10-20 UK university. We weren't given rankings but I would estimate I was in the top 5-10% of my year. At the time, I was really interested in going to the bar. Sadly, I couldn't afford it so had to go down the solicitor route. I have just finished my 2 year training contract and am now a litigation solicitor.