Mature Newbie Requires Module Assistance Watch

Anthonyy
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi Guys,

Hope everybody's well, and that I'm posting in the correct section

Thanks for taking time to read my thread.

I'm a mature student (and forum newbie) that's just started self-studying A-level Mathematics.

I'm planning to study Maths, Further Maths, and Additional Further Maths, with a view of going on to Cambridge/Oxford/Warwick/Imperial, and eventually gaining my Professorship.

So far I'm using the examsolutions website, and making my way through the edexcel books by Keith Pledger. I've also spoken with various schools and colleges, and I've got my test centre taken care of.

I think I'm headed in the right direction, but have a couple of thoughts on my mind. My main question is regarding which order I should learn the various modules.

As I'd be sitting all 18 edexcel exams I'd have to sit nine in each year, but which ones? And in which order are they best learnt?

I've read the m4ths website where he talks about juggling/manipulating your modules once you have your results to allow yourself the best grade possible, and I'm aware I need 80% for an A, and 90% in a combination of some modules for an A*, but I'm unsure of the best way to set out my learning.

Will sitting the modules in certain orders mean I end up accidentally cashing in early (before all 18 modules are sat) or is this not possible? However I sit the exams I'd need to ensure all three qualifications were awarded in the same year.

My other (loaded) question is, how long should I be thinking of spending studying per day/week/module?

I'm aware this is a very subjective question to ask, but hoped to get a ballpark figure to start off at. I work full time at present (72hours per week) and thought it'd make sense to check whether I have enough time to study three A-levels.