The Student Room Group

Applying to University of Toronto with these AS level grades. Help

So Im intending to apply for U of T for fall 2015 session. I still haven't completed my A levels but I already got my AS level result. I'm planning to study computer science .

B in Chemistry
C in Physics
C in Maths

So basically quite depressing results, especially for Maths and Physics. However, Im planning to retake Math again . My doubt is, should I look forward repeating Physics as well ? Do they consider repeated grades ?

+ I am currently studying for Physics A2 , Maths A2 and English AS .

I will be very thankful for your help.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Hi, I am Canadian by birth but currently live in Dubai. In Dubai i have done the GCE british system and i have done a lot of research on Canadian and American universities.

U of T is a really weird university, I know people in my school who got in just on the basis of their GCSE results. For example, i know two girls who got into U of T on the basis of their GCSE results as long as they maintained a B. Both of them got in for english. Although you may say that, "well that is english it doesn't count", so i have a friend in the year above who got i think 4-5 A* 4As and i think 1-2Bs. He then got in to U of T for actuarial science, and his AS grades were ABCD.

Personally, i have done Math, chemistry, physics, biology, and EPQ. In the order of the subjects mentioned, my grades were A, A, C, C, C. I too am disappointed with my grades. I do have a councillor in Canada, to whom i talk to by Skype, she said that my chance of getting into Toronto is possible, but I only have a chance of just above 40%. This accounts for my GCSE grades which were 4A* 5A 4B. Also I have done the SAT and have a score 2050, even with these i only really have a chance of about 40%. (by the way I want to do chemistry)