Questions about becoming a criminal lawyer?

Watch
JoshNolan
Badges: 0
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hello, I have some questions for any experienced or knowledgeable people out there about Law and how to become a lawyer, specifically in criminal law. First off here are some background facts about me:

• I am about to start my second year in an LLB Law with Criminology degree at a mid-to-high level university (the rankings put in the top 30 for Law). I wanted to go to Oxbridge when I started sixth form but I seriously screwed up my A levels and I have a lot of regret about that. In the end I resat and got AAA but I definitely could have had that first time around if I worked hard enough.
  • In my first year I achieved a 2:1 overall and that was without a significant amount of effort - I hope I can achieve a 1st overall if I put my mind to it.
  • When I started my degree I actually wanted to go into the police, mostly because I assumed my university wasn't "good enough" for me to become a lawyer, but I've since changed my mind.
  • I want to become the type of lawyer who represents the defence in criminal trials. I'm not sure whether this is a solicitor or barrister since I'm not very knowledgeable in this area.

Ok and here are my questions:
  1. Ok seriously, is my university (ranked in the top 30 but by no means a "top" university) well respected enough for me to realistically achieve my goals? This is the big one for me. When I was 17 used to use a forum similar to this and everyone was basically saying that if you don't go to Oxbridge and get at least a 2:1 you are screwed, so I basically gave up before I started.
  2. I heard to become a lawyer you need to secure a "training contract". How does one go about doing this and what are my chances?