The Student Room Group

Are my choices alright?? ( low UKCAT)

So i am in a pretty bad situation...
GCSE: 5 A*, 5 A and 2 B
AS: AABAB (h.bio, maths, chem, chinese and f. maths)
A2 prediction: A*A*A
UKCAT:
VR:450
QR:680
AR:620
DA:549
:coma::coma::coma::coma::cry:

I will be resitting one of the chemistry modules, and the reason that I didn't do well was because my dad died suddenly 10 days before my exams, I was lost and couldn't control myself....
I prepared the Ukcat for about 1.5 month but still did rubbish...
So at the moment, my choices are :

Peninsula (i am an international student, they don't ask international student to do the ukcat)

UEA

liverpool

Bristol?? :confused:

Can anyone please tell me if my choices are rite? oh and do these unis look at the AS grades?
Is Chinese your native language? If it is some unis won't accept it as an AS level I believe...

If you applied to Leeds I reckon you'd have a good chance, it's just that they're doing the BMAT this year... :/
Bristol remember is ridiculously competitive so just watch out for that! :smile:
Reply 2
Yes! Chinese is my native language, but I've got further maths at AS level too, so I wouldn't worry about that.

I honestly don't think I can do well in the BMAT after doing so rubbish in the Ukcat, isn't BMAT a lot harder than ukcat?

What can I do now to improve my chance of getting an interview at Bristol?
(Though I think they will just reject me instantly when they see the B in my chem...)

Thanks a lot for your reply!!!

Original post by WishIHadRevised
Is Chinese your native language? If it is some unis won't accept it as an AS level I believe...

If you applied to Leeds I reckon you'd have a good chance, it's just that they're doing the BMAT this year... :/
Bristol remember is ridiculously competitive so just watch out for that! :smile:
Original post by mwu13
Yes! Chinese is my native language, but I've got further maths at AS level too, so I wouldn't worry about that.