The Student Room Group
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes

K101/Adult Nursing Degree

Hello!
As I missed the intake this year by a scrape for the degree i will be applying next year. But before i do this they've advised me to study K101, the first module of the degree, so that i am able to transfer credit/prove that I'm confident & capable of studying at this level. Is there anyone else thats been advised to do this or any views of people who have previously done this? also, being slightly cheeky, i was just wondering what the average age range is of the students that study nursing with the OU.

:smile: Keira.
Reply 1
Hi, I am also studying k101, starting this October. I am working towards my nursing degree too. I was advised by open university that k101 is the best course to start with. I am not sure whether I am going to proceed with OU to get my nursing degree or go to a nursing university so I am using the k101 health and social care qualification to either get into nursing university or to carrying on with OU and transfer my credits onto the nursing degree course. I have been told that if you complete k101 before, you will not have to repeat it once you start your nursing degree course, so basically after completing k101, as it is the first module of the degree course you will be able to start on the second OU module, I assume. You do need to be working in a health care setting and have your employer sponsor you to do the OU nursing degree though. Are you starting this October in k101 too? oh and I am 21 :P
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes
Reply 2
Hello guys ,