Russian history: Why did Serfdom prevent modenisation of Russia in the 19th centuary?

Watch
Tj789
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
??? tanx people
XxKingSniprxX
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
I studied this last year for my AS History [EDEXCEL]

From what I recall, Serfdom is what prevented Russian society by modernising into an industrial society known later as by 'Witte Great spurt' from 1905+; However Serfdom prevented Russian society from modernising as because 80-90% of the population of Russian society consisted of peasants who lived in agriculture land thus keeping Russia in a backwards society compared to the other great western powers.

Rep my answer please, took time writing a response.
Tj789
Rep:
?
(Original post by XxKingSniprxX)
I studied this last year for my AS History [EDEXCEL]

From what I recall, Serfdom is what prevented Russian society by modernising into an industrial society known later as by 'Witte Great spurt' from 1905+; However Serfdom prevented Russian society from modernising as because 80-90% of the population of Russian society consisted of peasants who lived in agriculture land thus keeping Russia in a backwards society compared to the other great western powers.

Rep my answer please, took time writing a response.
Im taking the same course. Are you saying serfdom stopped Russia modernising into an industry because those serfs could only be involved in agriculture and if thats the case how can industry prosper?

What did you get for AS history? Oh and what did you studying for the British bit? Tanx
XxKingSniprxX
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by Tj789)
Im taking the same course. Are you saying serfdom stopped Russia modernising into an industry because those serfs could only be involved in agriculture and if thats the case how can industry prosper?

What did you get for AS history? Oh and what did you studying for the British bit? Tanx
I got an 'B' overall for my AS History.