Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Foundation year question please help! watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys, unfortunately I had to leave my access to science course this week due to work strains. Someone told mw that you can access university doing a foundation year or year 0. I don't have any A levels only GCSEs, I'm classed as a mature student yet Ive had a look on UCAS and all I can see is that even the foundation years require A levels. Can anyone give me any advice or point me towards a website to check what courses I can get on.

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    I did this and it was really good but hard work.

I did the foundation year in applied sciences at Northumbria university. They usually ask for formal qualifications for this course but because I was a mature student they accepted me without the right qualifications because I had 'life experience'.
    You are entitled to a student loan too which helped with the financial side which would have been a problem if I had gone to college and studied an access course.

You only needed to get 40% in your foundation year to be guaranteed a place on the following degree at that university (although this depends on the university and the course you go on to do)

What degree would you like to go on and do?

Due to health reasons I took a year out after my year 0 and then started my science degree else where but most of my friends from the course went on to complete their science degree.
    There are also some science degrees that have a inter-calculated masters year which would also be covered by your student loan.

My best advice would be to call the unis that offer a year 0 and ask what (if any) qualifications you would need. highlight to them that you are a mature student and have life experience and ask if that would be an advantage in your application.