Turn on thread page Beta

My depression will never leave me and I've wasted £4000 watch

As I write this I'm in tears and have never felt so low.

I am 23 and was diagnosed with depression and anxiety when I was 14. What triggered it was vicious bullying at school. The stigma stayed with me for years, I went on anti-depressants at 15 and always wanted to keep my head down because I felt judged by everyone.

But then at uni everything changed. I felt I could come into my own, everyone was nice and accepting and my 'illness' didn't rule me anymore. I even got a part time job which helped me not be so shy and almost combat my social anxiety.

I graduated uni this year, and stopped the anti-depressants completely. I was so proud of myself, I felt I was NORMAL.

Then I enrolled on an intense journalism course, costing £4000. I always wanted to be a writer and felt I could do it.

I'm in week 3 and it's been a nightmare. I have 13 hour days and my depression has come back full on, and the long days don't help. The course feels just like school, and I'm even getting mildly bullied by this girl who excludes me for no reason I can think of.

I feel pathetic. I have stopped going in after spending a lunch time crying in the toilets. I won't get out of bed even. And the worst part is, the teachers aren't even bothering to reply to my emails when I tell them I need to talk to them.

This makes me want to throw in the towel, I think if I told them about my illness they would say 'then journalism isn't the job for you, why are you doing this course?' Depression has such a stigma attached to it.

But quitting would make me lose the £4000 I spent on it.

I need help/advise from someone about what I can do. I don't know who I can speak to about this....