Not in the Russell Group...? Watch

august1994
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I am a student at the University of Sussex. I previously had an offer to study at Oxford but didn't quite make the grades so I took a gap year and applied to Sussex. I had other offers from Russell Group universities but I passed them up as I really liked Sussex when I visited and, at the time, I didn’t give the Russell Group too much thought.

I have loved my time at Sussex so far. I've made great friends and I feel like I am getting a challenging, engaging and rigorous education. I have been taught by some relatively well-known professors, who have chosen to move to Sussex from very prestigious universities. From my personal experience, I honestly couldn’t praise the academics enough.

However, it not being in the Russell Group bothers me more than I anticipated. I am aware that the Russell Group was not intended to be an objective mark of prestige; illustrated by the fact that many top universities (such as York and Durham) have only just joined. Furthermore in the world league tables Sussex is placed above a number of Russell Group universities (This year Times Higher Education rate it above Leeds, Warwick, Southampton, Exeter, Birmingham, Nottingham, Newcastle and Liverpool)

Yet it remains that many members of our generation see not being in the Russell Group as synonymous with bad. I know that if I feel like I am getting a good education at Sussex that is all that should matter but this is really bothering me. I won't consider transferring as other than these thoughts I do really love Sussex but this is affecting my enjoyment of university. Has anyone else felt this about their university and does anyone have any advice on how to get over this?
SirMasterKey
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago