The Student Room Group

Gap year work between masters and PhD

Hey there,

One year ago I graduated with a 2.1 in natural sciences from Cambridge. My grades from my bachelors degree wasn't good enough to do a PhD in an area I liked, so I decided to do a masters. This was in computational biology at a respected institute.

During the year, I decided that I wanted to take a year's break between finishing my master's and completing a PhD.

However, I am not sure about the type of work I can realistically expect. I only ended up finishing the master's course with a pass - this was despite getting decent grades throughout the year ( avg 67%), however due to many different circumstances I ended up bombing my final project - which affected my final grade.

I have been looking at research assistant jobs in various labs but I am really not sure if I have any chance of securing a position with my poor final grade and general lack of experience. So my questions to you guys is, would I have any chance at all of securing an RA position? If I can't get an RA position, what would be potentially good jobs for me to do from now until next year's round of PhD applications?

I am really not sure what to do - I don't want to waste my own time sending off applications if I have no chance of getting the job
Original post by Liquid27

Have you got a PhD offer? If not, then you need to rebalance your thinking, because you have much more chance of getting a job with those grades than a PhD. You need to look for a job that will last 2 years (because it takes virtually a year for the PhD application process) and a job that establishes a career in case you don't get a PhD place. Both your universities will have careers centres able to help you out.
Reply 2
Original post by threeportdrift