starburst92
Badges: 2
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi guys,

I'm applying for consulting positions, mostly at firms like the big 4, IBM, PA consulting etc.

My weakest point, I would say is commercial awareness. I would like to go about learning more but I have no idea where to start! I have an assessment centre with IBM coming up and have no clue what they could ask me regarding commercial awareness.

For a complete newbie to all of this, where would you guys suggest I start?

Any help would be much appreciated. Also I did a sciences degree so have no background knowledge of business/economics!
starburst92
Anyone?
gr8wizard10
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Sign up to FT and read through the biggest deals / whats happening in the econ. Or find companies those firms deal with and look into recent news/deals etc.. just build your overall knowledge of the market. I trade equities (with virtual funds) therefore I use analysis as a tool to keep me up to date with the ongoings of the markets/companies/economy whilst also having fun at the same time.
DeeDub
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Tax inversions might be an interesting thing to discuss in an interview.
starburst92
(Original post by Anonynous)
Sign up to FT and read through the biggest deals / whats happening in the econ. Or find companies those firms deal with and look into recent news/deals etc.. just build your overall knowledge of the market. I trade equities (with virtual funds) therefore I use analysis as a tool to keep me up to date with the ongoings of the markets/companies/economy whilst also having fun at the same time.
Thanks. I'm applying for consulting so how in depth would I need to know about things like financial markets, shares/bonds etc?

(Original post by DeeDub)
Tax inversions might be an interesting thing to discuss in an interview.
What does this have to do with consulting though?
starburst92
Also generally, are there any technical terms that I should definitely know for interviews?