Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    right here we go!

basically this aged machine i am using is pissing me off. it currently stands at a 733mhz p3 with 191(why the one?!) mb of ram, running windows 98. its struggling lately on a bare minimum of programs and it will be following me to university.

i was thinking of doing an inexpensive upgrade just to get it through my university years. my intial thought is to get it up to 1ghz and 512mb of ram.

Ram i can do, down the shop, slot it in easy. its the processors i dont understand. is there some way in the system/or an online scan (?) to find the name/number of the motherboard? need to find out whether it will take a 1ghz chip....

also can anyone help me with finding a good site with good prices, i have no knowledge of prices of P3 processors so dont know whats a good deal.

i found this:
    http://hardwarecentral.dealtime.com/...ange_under_250

is this little upgrade actualyl worth it too? i mean for the money involved will the performance be much improved?

ReputationRep:
    Simply find out what processor it uses (pentium or amd). Do this by My computer > properties, or read the bios on loading. Then go and buy a 1ghz chip of either.

Replacing the chip can be tricky, i broke the housing the first time i tried. It takes quite a lot of force to get the heat sink off the processor. (i find pentium easier to change).

find the mobo make from the bios.
    and go online to the manufacturer site to check.

+ 733 yo 1ghz is not much.
    ram is the best upgrade on a low spec machine like yours.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by andy_b)
    Simply find out what processor it uses (pentium or amd). Do this by My computer > properties, or read the bios on loading. Then go and buy a 1ghz chip of either.

Replacing the chip can be tricky, i broke the housing the first time i tried. It takes quite a lot of force to get the heat sink off the processor. (i find pentium easier to change).