The Student Room Group

Need help with studying?

I can't seem to find the correct topics in my books related to my lectures. It's so frustrating! :angry: I spend hours looking for the topics. I'm studying biochemistry and the books are 1000+ pages. So I don't want to read a "whole" chapter because that would be hundreds of pages long and I don't have time since I have other modules. My notes aren't sufficient enough to study from and in lectures they cover sections from different parts of the books. Its so hard to find each section and takes so much time. I'm currently in my second year. Can someone help me? Also I use different textbooks to my friends. They were recommended by my lecturers.
Although it's a pain in the backside, I don't think there is any way around this. My lecturers have said that for every hours worth of lecture you have, you should be doing 4 hrs of self study.
Make notes / cribcards or what ever your revision method is and crack on. No way around it, i'm afraid.
Reply 2
Original post by !!mentor!!
Although it's a pain in the backside, I don't think there is any way around this. My lecturers have said that for every hours worth of lecture you have, you should be doing 4 hrs of self study.
Make notes / cribcards or what ever your revision method is and crack on. No way around it, i'm afraid.

Yeah 4 hours would be well enough for each lecture. But I have 20+ hours of lectures and labs a week. I don't have enough time for that and to constantly search through the topics would waste so much more.
(edited 9 years ago)
Original post by kevlev
Yeah 4 hours would be well enough for each lecture. But I have 20+ hours of lectures and labs a week. I don't have enough time for that and to constantly search through the topics would waste so much more.