The Student Room Group

Studying ACCA by myself to improve grad scheme chances?

Hi everyone this is my first post here.
I graduated from Loughborough University this year with a first class honours in Computing and Management BSc. I applied to a finance jobs in the last xmas period but didn't end up getting any of the jobs I applied for (I got a few phone interviews, but only applied to about 15 companies so I can do better this year I'm sure). At the time I was predicted a 2:1.
I am now about to start applying again for the 2015 grad schemes, and hopefully my achieved 1st will give me a small advantage on my previous situation. But I want to do whatever I can to sway the odds in my favour, so I am considering starting the ACCA at home, and getting a couple of exams out of the way to show employers that I am taking a step in the right direction.
What I want to know is how much impact is this likely to actually have?
Also if a company's deadline for applications is the 31th of December, would I be better off submitting my application now, or waiting for a month or 2 until I have at least one ACCA exam under my belt? (There is a centre close to me that hold computer based assessments weekly so I don't have to wait until the normal time). Or is an early application likely to have more impact?

Any information would be much appreciated, thanks in advance.
depends what sort of finance job you apply for but in general CIMA exams are more likely to impress. http://www.cimaglobal.com/

What are you actually doing now? Some work experience would help.
Reply 2
Many many graduate jobs are first come first served so I would suggest spending your time on making as many high quality applications as you can is much more likely to be productive.