The Student Room Group

Job interview from hell?

Hi all,

Just wondering what your thoughts are on what happened to me recently. I graduated in July with a First class honours degree from a pretty good university. Due to personal circumstances, I have only just started looking for a job, and wanted to try out some teaching roles.

I got an interview for a 6 hour/week job involving tutoring. I applied because I wanted to get an idea of what teaching is all about and whether or not i am suited to it. I have a really good academic record, and got a phone interview. When ensued was horrible.

The first thing she said was 'Your grades are really good so why did you go to this University?', which felt like an insult to the three years of hard work that I had just put in. I explained that my University was in fact a top 50 one, and that I had a fantastic experience.

She didn't seem convinced and then proceeded to say 'Why do you want this job?' and I explained that I had a strong interest in teaching and that I have a caring nature, which is suited to the role. This wasn't good enough for her clearly, as she asked 'What else are you looking at, it can't just be this?'. I didn't really know what to say, so I said other teaching roles, and that i'm good with people so perhaps some roles related to caring (which, probably wasn't a good idea in hindsight).

She then said 'People like you are too honest, we don't want droppers. People like you will drop out. The reason that you haven't been employed yet is because you are too honest. You've been out of uni for some months now and this is why you haven't got a job'. :eek: