The Student Room Group
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website

Help! Stuck on three colleges, apply tonight!

I am a geography student, i have a posh voice but a poor background so i would like somewhere non judgey.
WOuld like a genuinley friendly atmosphere, good academic ethic and decent accomadation.
My choices are
Collingwood
University
St Aidens

Does the competiveness of a university affect how likely i am to get in?
I'm at Aidan's and can say that it is definitely non-judge-y! It is known for being the college with the widest variety of students from all backgrounds and has a reputation for being informal, inclusive and friendly! It has nice, large, modern rooms, although there is a higher chance you'd have to share a room at Aidan's than most other colleges (although most people find it's actually fine and usually really enjoy it as they very carefully match people up based on the results of a questionnaire they send out once people have confirmed their offers. Sharing a room is also cheaper now). It is non gowned and has really amazing formals which are usually fancy dress so not pretentious at all!

Collingwood is also nice, it is one of the largest colleges so you get a whole variety of people. I've heard it's friendly, again with modern rooms. Having a large college means there are more people to meet, however some people want a smaller college where they can get to know everyone. I think in general it is much the same in terms of formality as Aidan's - I've heard good things about it!