The Student Room Group

Should I drop out of college?

I'm suffering with my mental health and have been for some time, I'm currently studying A2 and I'm really struggling to keep myself above it all, and am debating whether to drop a subject and just do 2, drop out of college all together and have a break for a bit before applying for an apprenticeship, or just grin and bare it and hope I dont get any more unwell.
Its really taking a toll on my day to day life, and I feel physically ill at the thought of going into college now.
I just need help or advice or something
Anything anyone could say would be really appreciated

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by despicablerach
I'm suffering with my mental health and have been for some time, I'm currently studying A2 and I'm really struggling to keep myself above it all, and am debating whether to drop a subject and just do 2, drop out of college all together and have a break for a bit before applying for an apprenticeship, or just grin and bare it and hope I dont get any more unwell.
Its really taking a toll on my day to day life, and I feel physically ill at the thought of going into college now.
Posted from TSR Mobile

I'm not sure if dropping out is a good idea, unless you've not got any other options. Have you been in contact with your college's support department?
Yeah they just tell me to deal with it and that everybody had problems and they don't need me complaining and moaning that I can't cope

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by despicablerach

Posted from TSR Mobile

How did you cope in your first year? Dropping out really should be a last resort- I do talk from experience, here. I know it's cliche, but you only should considering dropping out if you have virtually explored every avenue. I understand that it's probably not a good time for you at the moment- it can be tough when you're aren't be showered with opportunities and choices.