Japanese Studies or Psychology with Japanese on the side?

Watch this thread
plumblossomtori
Badges: 0
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hi all,

I am a mature student planning to go to university in 2015. My two big interests in life are social sciences and Japan, and eventually I would like a career where I can combine my interests. I haven’t completely decided what job I want to aim for, or if I’d like to move to Japan long-term or remain in England. However, I do want to spend at least a year or so teaching English in Japan, hopefully with JET.

Right now, I’m trying to choose whether to go for a degree in Japanese Studies (which is like anthropology focusing on Japan, as well as language) as that will cover both interests, or whether to take Psychology and study Japanese with a separate language course. I’m wondering if a psychology degree would be better for job opportunities than Japanese Studies - and I'll also be able to study closer to home (Reading or Surrey unis), which would be a bonus for me.

Thanks for reading, any advice?
Okorange
Badges: 17
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by plumblossomtori)
Hi all,

I am a mature student planning to go to university in 2015. My two big interests in life are social sciences and Japan, and eventually I would like a career where I can combine my interests. I haven’t completely decided what job I want to aim for, or if I’d like to move to Japan long-term or remain in England. However, I do want to spend at least a year or so teaching English in Japan, hopefully with JET.