Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hey everyone, just found this site and seems pretty helpful so far!

I'm currently studying A2 level maths, further maths and biology and it's only just occurred to me that I'm gonna have finished in a few weeks time!

I don't really fancy University (I've had enough of full-time education) and I'd quite like to end up doing something mechanical or engineering-wise.

If I were to go to, say, Fords for example and start an apprenticeship, is there any way they'll sponsor me to do a degree in engineering etc whilst I'm there?

A friend of mine's dad works for Thames Water and said they do this and apprentices can end up with a degree in mechanical engineering, but I can't find any information on this.

Any help/ideas are appreciated.

Simon.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by simick1712)

I'm currently studying A2 level maths, further maths and biology and it's only just occurred to me that I'm gonna have finished in a few weeks time!

I don't really fancy University (I've had enough of full-time education) and I'd quite like to end up doing something mechanical or engineering-wise.

If I were to go to, say, Fords for example and start an apprenticeship, is there any way they'll sponsor me to do a degree in engineering etc whilst I'm there?

A friend of mine's dad works for Thames Water and said they do this and apprentices can end up with a degree in mechanical engineering, but I can't find any information on this.

Simon.
    What's putting you off the idea of a degree in Engineering? I'm sure you can find a course that's very practical based and near home.

with the sponsorship: What you can do is take a gap year to work for an engineering firm, and if you're good they can sponsor you through university. During the sponsorship you can go and work for them in your summer holidays.

You could try working for Rolls Royce.

Here: http://www.yini.org.uk/